The Board

Tasmanian Irrigation has a Board and senior management team that is qualified and experienced in major infrastructure projects, governance, negotiation and finance.
The directors have extensive and successful track records in relevant fields. They are:

Samantha Hogg (Chair)

Samantha Hogg brings 25 years of experience in executive management across the resources and infrastructure sectors and broad Australian and International experience in finance, marketing and strategic projects.  Her most recent executive role was as Chief Financial Officer of Transurban, through a period when the business grew to become a top 20 ASX company.  Samantha was also responsible for recapitalising the company in 2008 through the Global Financial Crisis and she successfully financed and transacted the $7.1 billion acquisition of Queensland Motorways Limited.  Samantha recently purchased a farm in Northern Tasmania where she now resides.  She is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a Non-Executive Director of Hydro Tasmania and MaxiTRANS.

John Whittington

John is the Secretary of the Tasmanian Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE). He has held numerous senior management positions since joining the Tasmanian State Service in 2002 from the University of Canberra.

John represents the State Government on a number of Boards including the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and Tasmanian Irrigation Pty Ltd.  He also represents DPIPWE on the Wellington Park Management Trust.

John is a graduate of the University of Adelaide where he completed his PhD.

Michael Chilvers

Michael Chilvers, along with wife Fiona, run a successful intensive mixed farming enterprise in the Northern Midlands at Nile. A mix of predominantly irrigated crops such as feed grains, malt barley, lucerne hay, processing peas, poppies and hybrid carrot seed is grown, along side livestock enterprises including lamb finishing and dairy heifer and cow agistment.

In 2012 Michael was awarded a Nuffield Farming Scholarship, and traveled widely studying ways to systemise production on farm and models for expansion for agricultural businesses. Following the completion of the scholarship, Michael was appointed to the board of Nuffield Australia for two years. He is currently chair of TAP AgriCo: a grain and processed stock feed trading and logistics business that handles the majority of the cereal crop produced in Tasmania.

Long-term involvement with the TFGA has created extensive networks, and opportunities for a sound knowledge of issues facing producers. This knowledge has been further strengthened as a member of the GRDC High Rainfall Zone Cropping Solutions Network Committee. It identifies production challenges and prioritises research, development and extension investment relating to broad acre farming systems across southern Australia.

Michael has been a strong advocate for irrigation development and water storage within Tasmania, and in particular, the South Esk catchment. He was involved with the Lower South Esk Irrigation Scheme as a member of the Irrigators group, prior to the scheme’s commencement and served for a period as chair.

Guy Kingwill

Guy Kingwill is currently a Board member of Lower Murray Water Urban and Rural Water Corporation (known as Lower Murray Water).

Guy has substantial Australian and international executive experience, which includes nine years as the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Tandou Limited, a successful New South Wales farming business engaged in irrigated agriculture and water trading. Prior to joining Tandou Guy enjoyed a successful executive career with Lanxess Corporation and Bayer Chemicals in the United States.

Guy has extensive knowledge of rural water use and trading matters, with a strong corporate background and experience of international corporate funding. 

Guy has a Bachelor of Commerce, is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.